We have approached the home stretch in CHART advocacy.  Our primary goal has been to get 75% of our Priority 1 districts (25 of 33 districts) to adopt CHART.   As of this moment, we are only 9 districts short of reaching that goal.

[Fun Fact: This post was originally going to be called “Ten to Win”, but another district announced as I began to type. Good problem to have, right?]

Below is a list of the Priority 1 districts that either (a) haven’t adopted a policy yet, (b) adopted their own abstinence-plus policy and are being asked to replace it with the CHART policy, or (c) adopted an abstinence-only policy and are being asked to reconsider their policy position.

Remaining Priority 1 Districts (Counties in Parenthesis where necessary):

  • Benoit School District (Bolivar) – adopted abstinence-only
  • Coahoma Agricultural High School  – adopted abstinence-plus
  • George County School District
  • Holmes County School District
  • Greenwood School District (Leflore)  – adopted abstinence-plus
  • South Panola School District
  • Scott County School District
  • Forest Municipal School District (Scott) – adopted abstinence-plus
  • Sunflower County School District
  • East Tallahatchie School District
  • Hollandale School District (Washington)
  • Coffeeville School District (Yalobusha)
  • Water Valley School District (Yalobusha)
  • Yazoo City School District – adopted abstinence-plus
  • Yazoo County School District

Again, we only need 9 of these 14 districts to adopt the policy in order to reach our goal.  If you’re interested in taking part in our advocacy efforts in any of these districts, please e-mail me at sanford@mississippifirst.org.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *