Lt. Governor Tate Reeves has announced his three nominees for the Public Charter School Authorizing Board.  With these nominations, all seven seats on Mississippi’s lone charter school authorizer have been filled, pending Senate approval.  Other nominations were made by Governor Bryant (3 nominations) and State Superintendent Dr. Lynn House (1 nomination).  The seven members will serve as “acting board members” until the Senate is able to vote during the 2014 legislative session.

The following people have been nominated to serve on the Public Charter School Authorizing Board (nominator in parentheses):

Krystal Cormack (Bryant) – Educator and Teach For America Delta Corps Alum

Johnny Franklin (Bryant) – Former Education Advisor for Gov. Haley Barbour

Chris Wilson (Bryant) – Realtor, former President of the Mississippi Association of Realtors

Dr. Lynn House (House) – State Superintendent of Education

Tommie Cardin (Reeves) – Attorney, former president of the Clinton School Board

Bonita Coleman-Potter (Reeves) – Superintendent of the Ocean Springs School District

Dr. Karen Elam (Reeves) – Businesswoman, former professor of nutrition and food science

With the board in place, the next major step in implementing Mississippi’s new charter school law will be the appointment of an Executive Director.  The person appointed by the board will serve as legal counsel, while also handling the day-t0-day operations of the authorizer.