A quick post about today’s Race to the Top announcement: 16 states were announced today as finalists for Round I of Race to the Top. These 16 were chosen from a pool of 40. Some interesting things to note: 2 of our neighbors, Louisiana and Tennessee, were selected. Other Southern states selected included Georgia, Florida, North Carolina, and South Carolina.  D.C., our rival for lowest NAEP scores, was also chosen.  Kentucky was the only state without a charter school law chosen.

See the official announcement from Secretary Duncan here.

You can also read further commentary from EdWeek here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *