The Mississippi Public Charter Schools Act of 2013 went into effect on July 1, 2013. Since then, the Mississippi Charter School Authorizer Board has been established to implement the law. Learn more below.

Mississippi Charter School Authorizer Board

The Mississippi Charter School Authorizer Board (MCSAB) is responsible for authorizing and supervising charter schools in Mississippi. The MCSAB can only approve up to 15 applications each year.

The first charter schools are expected to open in Fall 2015. The Board evaluates the qualifications of charter school applicants, approves qualified applications, and oversees the schools to ensure they fulfill the provisions of the charter contract. The Board is made up of 7 appointees: 3 by the governor, 3 by the lieutenant governor, and 1 by the Board of Education. Appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate.

The current Mississippi Charter School Authorizer Board members are

  • Tommie Cardin (Chairman) – Attorney, former president of the Clinton School Board
  • Krystal Cormack – Educator and Teach For America Delta Corps Alum
  • Johnny Franklin – Former Education Advisor for Gov. Haley Barbour
  • Chris Wilson – Realtor, former President of the Mississippi Association of Realtors
  • Dr. Carey Wright – State Superintendent of Education
  • Dr. Bonita Coleman-Potter – Superintendent of the Ocean Springs School District
  • Dr. Karen Elam – Businesswoman, former professor of nutrition and food science

To view additional MSF Charter School Resources visit our Charter School Publications page.