Monroe Early Learning Collaborative

The Monroe Early Learning Collaborative has nine sites: Aberdeen Head Start, Amory Head Start, Calvert’s ABC Preschool; Hamilton Elementary School, Hatley Elementary School, Lil’ Blessings Child Care, Smithville Elementary School, West Amory Elementary School, and Aberdeen Elementary School. It has served 1,359 four-year-olds since its founding in 2014.

Number of Classrooms in ELC


Students Served in 2022-2023


Number of Sites in ELC


“[C]hildren in Monroe County [now have] an option to receive a high-quality early childhood education.”

— Jennifer Calvert, Owner and Director of Calvert’s ABC Preschool and Nursery

Do you have a four-year-old
in Monroe county?

Enroll your four-year-old in the Monroe Early Learning Collaborative.

Want to receive an individual
tax credit?

Learn how to get a tax credit and support the
Monroe Early Learning Collaborative.

About Early Learning Collaboratives

Early learning collaboratives (ELCs) are comprised of school districts, local Head Starts, child care centers, and/or private or parochial schools. Collaboratives offer a high-quality, low- or no-cost pre-K option to families in Mississippi. ELCs are funded through state funds and local matching funds and are overseen by the Mississippi Department of Education.

Learn more about how we are celebrating the 10th anniversary of the ELCs.

We know that kids who attend high-quality pre-K:

Enter kindergarten with stronger literacy, language, math, and social-emotional skills

Are less likely to need special education services, less likely to repeat grades, and more likely to graduate and enroll in college

See stronger employment opportunities and increased earning potential

Are less likely to commit juvenile and adult crimes