Coahoma County Early Learning Collaborative

The Coahoma County Early Learning Collaborative has six sites: Aaron E. Henry Head Start Center, Booker T. Washington Elementary School, George Oliver Elementary School, Heidelberg Elementary School, Jonestown Head Start, and Kirkpatrick Elementary. It has served 2,032 four-year-olds since its founding in 2014.

Number of Classrooms in ELC


Students Served in 2022-2023


Number of Sites in ELC


“Coahoma County Early Learning Collaborative provides appropriate activities and learning experiences that help prepare four-year-olds for kindergarten. Our program helps children become independent, self-confident, and enthusiastic learners.”

— Peggy Hemphill, Coahoma County Early Learning Collaborative Pre-K Lead Teacher

Do you have a four-year-old
in Coahoma County?

Enroll them in the Coahoma County Early Learning Collaborative.

Want to receive an individual
tax credit?

Learn how to get a tax credit and support the
Coahoma County Early Learning Collaborative.

Social Media

About Early Learning Collaboratives

Early learning collaboratives (ELCs) are comprised of school districts, local Head Starts, child care centers, and/or private or parochial schools. Collaboratives offer a high-quality, low- or no-cost pre-K option to families in Mississippi. ELCs are funded through state funds and local matching funds and are overseen by the Mississippi Department of Education.

Learn more about how we are celebrating the 10th anniversary of the ELCs.

We know that kids who attend high-quality pre-K:

Enter kindergarten with stronger literacy, language, math, and social-emotional skills

Are less likely to need special education services, less likely to repeat grades, and more likely to graduate and enroll in college

See stronger employment opportunities and increased earning potential

Are less likely to commit juvenile and adult crimes